Guthrie

I said I’d be back…and here I am, all in one piece.  Back from Guthrie, Oklahoma, where I attended the "Hitty, A Little Doll on the Prairie" event.  Oh, what fun!!!  (More on that later…)

In 1907, Guthrie was named the first capital of the new state of Oklahoma.  Then, Governor Haskell raised a big stink with his cronies and it was moved to Oklahoma City in 1910.  Recently, Guthrie has been trying to revive itself and is now a quaint, old Western town. 

I loved the architecture.  Here’s what I brought home:

Img_1217 

Img_1219

Img_1221 

Img_1222 

Img_1223 

Stone pillar outside the Pollard Inn, where we stayed:

Img_1226 

Sunrise across the street:

Img_1228 

Img_1294 

Img_1352 

And talk about holding a grudge!  Check out the banner below:

Img_1353 

Img_1220

Red Brick + Blue Skies = Very Pretty

Comments are closed.

