Extraordinarily Ordinary

Christmas, my mom’s birthday, cousins arriving from out of town, and finally, New Year’s Eve.  It’s been a busy time!  And now it is the first day of 2008.  It seems that this day shouldn’t go unnoticed.  2007 was the year to get our home and family life in order.  To really focus on the home, how I (we?) wanted it to look, how I wanted it organized, to be sure we are focusing on one another, and last but certainly not least, how dedicated to staying at home I truly am.   That one was tested big time last year, when a truly wonderful and cushy job offer came my way.   The conclusion: I am valued and wanted at home.  And I value and want to be home.  It is the most important job I will ever have.  (And dare I say it is the "cushiest" as well?)  I keep getting asked what on Earth I will do with "all my time" next year when Dassa is in school (sob) full-time.  Huh?  I’m sure I’ll figure it out.  Anyway, I could go on and on about this, but I’ll save that for another time.  Suffice it to say that 2007 was the year that we, the "VanDroo" family, firmly declared that a parent at home is a priceless luxury that we cannot function without.

On to 2008.  Wow.  What are my dreams for this year?  The ordinary things, for sure.  I want to sew more.  Knit better.  Learn to crochet.  (Even "Crochet for Dummies" hasn’t helped.  Sigh.)  Felt things.  Play with the Hittys.  Maybe carve one?  Create.  Decorate the home.  Make yummy dinners.  Bake good things to eat.  Volunteer at the girls’ schools.  Keep my children inspired to create.  Keep things simple so Dan’s life outside of work is not too stressful.  Have friends over more often.  Hmmmmm….  I guess I have a few goals, then.  So the "Holiday Season" ends, and 2008 begins.

Img_0572

All the Tomte are put away now.  The picture above was yesterday, when I discovered this wall covered in sunshine that was reflecting off of a neighbor’s window.  Being that the windows face North here, it was an unusual sight for late afternoon.

I am also relishing the cuteness that is tucked-in (literally) all over the house:

Img_0579

I come upon these scenes all the time.  I just love finding little critters tucked in everywhere.  I have even found things tucked into my shoes. 

Another thing I have been finding more and more are self-portraits of rogue-photographers on my camera.  Which, by the way, is a good way to get busted for not asking me to use the camera:

Img_0497

Img_0498

Img_0504

"Tater, were you using my camera?" 

"No….."

"So then, who took these?!?"

Really, I don’t mind them using my camera if they ask (and then put it away.)  Pit~Pat has her own camera, and I think Tater needs one now.  Dassa takes great pictures, too.  I didn’t even know I was being photographed:

Img_0537

All this to say that I am truly enjoying the mundane, ordinary things in life and I am looking forward to more extraordinarily ordinary moments in 2008.

Img_0570res

*** Happy New Year ***

Leave a Reply

