Give. Away. Giveaway.

I've been thinking about 2008 a lot this week.  All that I hoped to accomplish.  A great many things were, in fact, ticked off of my list.  Still, the most important item on my *To Do List* for 2008 was to give.  Without expectations.   Randomly.  Even when I didn't want to.  On many levels I did, especially where my home and my girls are concerned.  But it is never enough and I still don't feel like I can say I have been successful in the *Give* department.  This is obviously a lifetime goal, bigger than a year can handle – what was I thinking?! 

Fanny~Mae November 2008

I took Fanny~Mae's picture last week, wanting to post something about her cuteness on my blog.  I knew our time together was ending and she deserved to be a part of this space, where hopefully the girls (some time in the future) will see her and remember her as a sweet part of their childhoods.  Fanny~Mae was a good girl.  There has been too much sadness this week.  It's time for a diversion.  Yes, indeed.  Which is where the *giving* comes in.
It's true…I'm hosting my first *ever* blog giveaway.   Open to anyone, anywhere in the world.  Just leave me a comment on this post and I'll throw your name into the hat.  One winner will receive a copy of this:

Artful Blogging 

If you've never read it, you are in for a treat.  The photos are beautiful.  The featured  blogs are inspiring.  Even the paper quality is incredible.  (Probably why its pricetag is, too!) 
I'll close comments midnight Sunday (EDT) and pick a winner Monday.  Have fun…Oh!  And thanks for the diversion.♥

9 Responses to “Give. Away. Giveaway.”

  1. Your Fanny-Mae was a cutie!

  2. Martha,
    You don’t have to enter me in your give-away if you don’t want to, but I wanted to let you know that I have thought about you and the girls so many times this week! I always enjoy your blogs!
    Erin 🙂

  3. Martha – your blog is a gift in itself – I visit often just to see what your Hitty family is up to! It is a wonderful thing.

  4. Well I would love the magazine as we do not have it here in my area.

  5. I have never read that magazine but sure would love to!Please enter me. And may your memories of sweet Fanny Mae bring you comfort! She looks like a good doggy! Choked me up to read about her.
    ~Tam

  6. I know exactly what you mean about ‘giving’ Martha, we all ‘give’ all of the time to our families but giving outside the nest isn’t always easy. Just putting a few coins into a charity tin that someone rattles in your face as you pass isn’t my type of giving. I sometimes think every financially secure family in the world should be twinned with a very poor family and they could help each other in different ways. Your Fanny-Mae has a such a wise face, bless her. I hope she will always inspire you and your family when you think about her. Have a good weekend (no chicken hunting I presume). Eli. PS. yes please…enter me for the fab mag, we have nothing as good as that in England.

  7. I am so sorry to hear about your loss. Fannie Mae looks like she was the best of dogs. I love your blog, as you know, Martha and you give me a gift everytime I stop by to visit. Have a good weekend.
    Kelly

  8. Of course the kids will remember her. And miss her dearly. Even when they are grown up. Well, at least I do with our cats…I hope they can find some distraction, too…

  9. Oh Martha…
    Your post really touched me and I have to tell you, as I am sure others must have, that you have already given so much. You’ve inspired so many of us with your blog not only with your love of Hitty but sharing of your darling girls as you have. One thing you said in this post stood out to me in particular and that was where you said “But it is never enough and I still don’t feel like I can say I have been successful in the *Give* department.”
    I could not disagree with you more. ;o)) Every time you sit down and make entries into this blog and share your charming photos you have given a gift to each person that reads it. You have been VERY successful, you just need to see that in yourself and try to feel good about that. As my dear Nana would have said to me… “just get rid of that notion!” ;o)))
    We all may feel at times in our lives that no matter what we do it isn’t enough but it’s really just not true. You have given so much to so many as is witnessed in your blog and I am inspired every time I visit here. Thanks for sharing your life with us and giving so much.
    Biggest Hugs,
    Vickie

Comments are closed.

