Three Girls

I have spent most of today outside and, as a result, pondering the beauty of this amazing day:

 

 

When I ponder beauty in nature, it usually leads me to think of my girls.  Three beauties in nature…
Take Tater…Life is good for Tater.  Successful in school, friends with the nicest group of girls, kind, reponsible.  She had a Karate Tournament last Sunday:

She's a blurr when she's doing her forms, and impossible to photograph (with my current camera).  She took third in sparring – she's the second from the right here:

 

Tater was named one of the two Standard Bearers for her school next year.  It is an honor given by her teachers.  She and the other Standard Bearer will raise and lower the flag each day.  There she is below…during the ceremony last Wednesday:

And do you know – our town is the only town in the country to have a program like this.  I think that needs to change!  This is the 85th year this program has run.  Tater had quite a cheering committee in the audience:

 

Admittedly, the refreshments afterwards were the highlight for some:

 

Though the highlight also could have been all the Patriotic songs we sang on the way to the ceremony.  Boy, was that one loud car!  Tater is already helping the current 8th Grade Standard Bearers to raise and lower the flag.  That's my girl!
Ah…then there's Pit~Pat:

 

Did I really try to fool myself into thinking that the age difference between her and her youngest sister meant that Pitter would NOT be a "Middle" child?  Alas…not so.  She is a classic.  "It's not fair!!!" is Pit~Pat's favorite expression.  Pitter is obsessed with dogs.  And Rhubarb.  Huh?  Rhubarb?  Really?  Yup.  Yesterday, we made a pie together:

 

And she LIKED it!!!

 

Usually, these things end up with a "Not Tasty" verdict, and a puddle of Pit~Pat on the floor.  Boy Howdy was I thrilled that she loves Rhubarb as much as she thought she did!  With Pit~Pat around, life is always interesting.  I love my little Pitter.  ♥
Oh, and my Dassa.  In the middle of everything.  Loud.  Silly.  Competent beyond her years, yet still my baby.  This child is going to give me a run for my money!  (Yes, I'm sure I've said that before!)  Dassa cut her own hair a few weeks ago (thus the shorter 'do') and then tried to tape it back on so I wouldn't notice.  She may have gotten away with it, too, if I hadn't tried to brush her hair.  Silly girl!

 

Dassa learned to read in Kindergarten this year.  She loves her newfound skill:

 

Still, even though she can read to herself now, you're never too old to be read to.  Thank goodness.  This afternoon, we spent a good hour reading on the front porch.  Then, suddenly, Dassa just had to make a pinecone birdfeeder!!!

 

Boy, is she pleased with herself.  She doesn't want to miss her first "customer":

 

Ah, the wonders of Nature…the wonders who are my three girls…it's all lovely.

 

♥♥♥

One Response to “Three Girls”

  1. Beautiful!!! The most precious gifts… Your girls truly are *Nature’s Beauty*!!!:o)

Leave a Reply

